Posted on April 7, 2009 by Dylan Anderson

Augustana Athletes Celebrate at Colour Night

by Dylan McConnell
Last Friday, the Augustana Athletics Department hosted their annual “Colour Night” at the Camrose Regional Exhibition. The nearly 200 well-dressed guests in attendance were treated to a night of good food, entertainment and awards in order to celebrate the achievements made by this year’s group of Augustana athletes.

Greg Ryan, Athletics Director at Augustana, began the night with thank-yous to Cathy Davis, David Arial and Jessica Binder for their work throughout the year in coordinating athletic affairs, and congratulations to the athletes on another successful campaign. Next was the speech from Dean Roger Epp, who highlighted Augustana’s “commitment to cultivating well-rounded individuals” who can excel both in the classroom and in the realm of physical competition. This sentiment was confirmed when Epp informed the crowd that “1 in 7 Augustana students are involved with athletics,” a ratio far higher than most, if not all, other comparable institutions. Epp also thanked the athletes for representing the school as members of the “public image of Augustana,” something they have done all year in the community and beyond.

After the introductory speeches had been given, Philip Eriksson, an Augustana cross-country runner, biathlete, curler and all-around good guy, said grace before the athletes and guests were catered with a wonderful meal of roast beef and potatoes.

Once everyone had their fill, the awards were handed out. Male Athletes of the Year went to Philip Eriksson (Biathlon, Cross-Country Running, Curling) and Paul Ofrim (Volleyball). Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Kathryn Stone (Cross-Country, Biathlon)

Although the individual awards were the main event on Friday, several team accomplishments were also recognized. The Women’s Volleyball team enjoyed a 14-0 season, winning the ACAL Gold, while the Men’s Volleyball team went a respectable 11-1 en route to both ACAL and Western Canadian Championship Gold. The Augustana Cross-Country Running team had another strong year as well, as both the Men’s and Women’s teams won Silver at the ACAC Championships, while placing 4th (Women) and 5th (Men) at the CCAA Championships. Finally, the Men’s Curling team won Bronze in the ACAC Provincial tournament, and three Biathletes participated in the World University Games in China: Alicia Hurley, Kathryn Stone and Jytte Apel.

The night was finished off with a slideshow/video presentation that highlighted another fantastic year of Augustana Athletics.

Congratulations to all of the winners, and the rest of the athletes on another fine season.

In the order presented at the banquet, here are the 2008-2009 Augustana Individual Athletic Award winners:


  • Most Improved Player: Luke Boyer
  • Most Persistent Player: Joel Jackson
  • Leroy Johnson Rookie of the Year Award: Ben Starbuck
  • Joe Voytechek Most Valuable Player Award: Tyler Bellamy
  • Minor Officials also recognized: Felicity Collins; Edwin Othen


  • Most Improved Male: Philip Eriksson
  • Most Improved Female: Brittany Wilkowski
  • Most Valuable Male: Kendall Warawa
  • Most Valuable Female: Sayler Henitiuk
  • Charles Morter Award: Sayler Henitiuk

Women’s Volleyball

  • Most Improved Player: Megan Simard
  • Most Dedicated Player: Tamara Armstrong
  • Most Valuable Player: Amy Schumacher

Men’s Volleyball

  • Most Improved Players: Luke Lindholm; Bryn Petch
  • Most Dedicated: Jon McCorquindale
  • Most Valuable Player: Paul Ofrim

Cross-Country Running

  • Most Improved Male: Dexter MacCalder
  • Most Improved Female: Reba Murphy
  • Most Valuable Male: David Arial
  • Most Valuable Female: Kathryn Stone


  • Most Improved Male: Paul Woloschuk
  • Most Improved Female: Jenny Paterson
  • Most Valuable Male: Philip Eriksson
  • Most Valuable Female: Lauren Brookes

Men’s Basketball

  • Most Improved Players: Kevin Barnes; David Chytracek
  • Most Dedicated Player: David Ness
  • Best Defensive Player: Brendin Huculak
  • Most Valuable Player: Joseph Knight
  • Minor Officials also recognized: Gordon Naylor; Jackie de Montarnal

Women’s Basketball

  • Most Improved Player: Danielle O’Neill
  • Most Dedicated Player: Megan Hogendoorn
  • Best Defensive Player: Jessie Hameister-Ries
  • Most Valuable Player: Jamie Sparrow

Cross-Country Skiing

  • Most Improved Skier: Kieran Baird
  • Most Valuable Skier: Jon Skinstad

ACAC Coach(es) of the Year

  • Gerhard Lotz & Robert Renman (Cross-Country Running)

Posted in Augustana Campus. | Permalink

Comments are closed.