Posted on June 4, 2010 by Tia Lalani

Join us in celebrating the graduands of the University of Alberta’s Augustana Campus!

Of the 143 students graduating from the University of Alberta’s Augustana Campus this year, 121 joined us at our Convocation celebration held on May 30, 2010. Despite the cold wind and recent snow, friends and family warmly welcomed each graduate as they crossed the stage and received their certificate. For each one, this document stands as a testament to years of hard work and devotion, friendships built and experiences shared, on Augustana campus.

Before the ceremony began, Augustana’s Medal Winners from each department were invited to share a lunch with their awarding Chairs and Dean Roger Epp. From left to right: Milton Schlosser (Music), Nicole Lorenz (BMus, Fine Arts Medal), Jonathan Mohr (CompSci), Sarah Skinner (BA Env Studies, Sciences Medal), Heather Holte (BA Psychology, Social Sciences Medal, Augustana Medal), Paula Marentette (Psychology), Ben Foged (BA Phil & Religion, Humanities Medal), John Johansen (English), Dean Roger Epp

The ceremony began at 2:30 with Faculty and special invited guests mounting the stage. Of special note are the three guests to the right of the podium: University of Alberta President Indira Samasekera, Board of Governors representative Agnes Hoveland and Chancellor Linda Hughes.
Mairi McCormack led the Convocation in a stirring rendition of O Canada. University of Botswana Library Director Helen Kay Raseroka delivered the Convocation Address. Ms. Raseroka received an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws from the University of Alberta.
Wetaskiwin-Camrose MLA Verlyn Olson offered his sincere congratulations to the graduates. Dean Roger Epp shared thoughts about what it means to be a graduate of Augustana.
Social Sciences and Augustana Medal winner Heather Holte (BA Psychology) from Amisk, AB shakes hands with Registrar Gerry Kendal. Kristopher Statnyk (BA Political Studies) from Big Valley proudly receives an Eagle Feather from Elder John Crier of the Samson Cree nation.
Bachelor of Music graduate Garrett Thorson from Calgary receives his degree. Alaina Risi from Olds receives her Bachelor of Arts in Physical Education from Dean Roger Epp.
Puneet Toor from Calgary receives her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. Lindsey Murray of Whitecourt was delighted to receive her 3-Year Bachelor of Arts from Augustana University College.
Ryck Schielke of Rosalind shared a few words with Dean Roger Epp as he received his Bachelor of Science in Biology. With quiet pride, Senfuka Hamsa of Kampala, Uganda accepted his Bachelor of Management degree from Dean Epp.
After the ceremony, several graduates followed Assistant Registrar Jonathan Hawkins outside to comemorate the planting of the class tree. Graduates Tom Vouronikos (BSc Chemistry) of Lacombe and Adam Vranas (BA Physical Education) of Cardiff were selected to plant the class tree.
Brittany Chappell (BA Modern Languages) of Forestburg watches the tree planting ceremony with University of Alberta VIPs. Saskatchewan’s Chelsea Halvorson (BA Global and Development Studies) poses with her 2010 class tree.
After Convocation, Faculty and staff welcomed graduates to the Augustana Dining Hall for coffee, tea and cake. Augustana staff joined Faculty to serve the graduates, some of whom they might never see again after their life-changing time at Augustana.

Posted in Augustana Campus. | Permalink

Comments are closed.