Posted on March 3, 2011 by Tia Lalani

Donors, students, faculty and staff came out to celebrate the Community Awards Program on March 2.

Donors, students, faculty and staff came out to celebrate U of A Augustana’s Community Awards Program on March 2. Donors and sponsors were seated with the students who received their awards, and were graciously thanked in a banquet and series of formal presentations. The night also featured the Distinguished Alumni Award, presented to Dr. James Opp (BA History ’92).

Nearly 300 people came out for the awards banquet to celebrate student achievement with community support!

Held in U of A Augustana’s cafeteria, guests savoured the three-course meal as they chatted.

2011 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient Dr. James Opp (right) with Assistant Registrar Jonathan Hawkins.

At a reception beforehand, friends and supporters of U of A Augustana had a chance to meet and chat with Dr. James Opp.

Despite the frigid -22 degree temperatures, many came out to enjoy the companionship and warmth of the Awards Banquet.

Students welcomed donors and community supporters, walking them to their tables and serving their coffee for them.
Several students posed for pictures with their benefactors.
An octet of Augustana Choir members blessed the meal before the Banquet.

Following the meal, Student Chaplain Johnathan Skinner offered a prayer of thanksgiving.

Plaques were awarded in honour of anniversary donors and special honourees.
First to bring greetings was Student Association President Sam Whittleton.

Next, Camrose County Councillor Vern Peterson gave a warm welcome.
Camrose Mayor Marshall Chalmers sincerely thanked the community supporters of the Program.

Finally, the Honourable Verlyn Olson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General, MLA for Wetaskiwin-Camrose, congratulated the students on their achievements.
Dean Roger Epp presented our long-term supporters with plaques to recognize milestones in donation years.
  Kent Freeborn received a plaque for RBC’s 10-year participation in the program. Honourable mention went to Shelley Rosland of World Travel (Camrose) for her 10 years as well.
  Carol Davies-Pedersen of Pedersen’s Florists (1980) accepted our thanks for 15 years of participation in the program.

  Terry Wilton of Wilton Psychological Services was thanked for 20 years of participation, and Cliff Denham of Lamb Ford Sales was recognized for 25 years.

  For the ATCO Gas Award and 35 years of support, Shane Ellis received our thanks.
  Brian Harberg of Harberg Nikiforuk Wood LLP Chartered Accountants has been supporting the program for 35 years, for which we thanked him. We also thank Jackie Pringle of Mina’s Jewellery China and Gifts for 35 years of support!
2011 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, Dr. James Opp (BA History ’92).
Dean Roger Epp watches James Opp on the Dean’s last Community Awards Banquet.
  Britnee Kegler received the second year of her 2009 Dean’s Entrance Citation Award, which grants $10,000 over 4 years for outstanding academic performance.
The most fun part of the evening followed, as the award envelopes were presented by donors to the student recipients.

The last speech of the evening was from Charley Switzer, a student award winner who stood up on behalf of Reina Shewakramani, recipient of the 2010 Augustana Dean’s Entrance Citation Award.

Her touching words put a warm wrap on a wonderful evening.

Posted in Augustana Campus. | Permalink

Comments are closed.